Are Monoglycerides and Diglycerides halal?

Questions & AnswersCategory: Food & DrinkAre Monoglycerides and Diglycerides halal?
Jamal asked 7 months ago

Assalamu Alaikum, are Monoglycerides and Diglycerides halal?

1 Answers
Admin Staff answered 7 months ago

These ingredients are doubtful. Monoglycerides and diglycerides of fatty acids (E471) refers to a food additive composed of diglycerides and monoglycerides which is used as an emulsifier. This mixture is also sometimes referred to as partial glycerides. Monoglycerides and diglycerides are both naturally present in various seed oils, however their concentration is usually low and industrial production is primarily achieved by a glycerolysis reaction between triglycerides (fats/oils) and glycerol. The raw materials of this may be either vegetable or animal fats and oils. Monoglycerides and diglycerides, E471, is mainly produced from vegetable oils, although animal fats are sometimes used and cannot be completely excluded as being present in the product. Therefore, consume only if the product is Halal/Kosher certified or the source is known to be from vegetables. You will need to verify with the manufacturer of the product to find the source. A kosher symbol on the packaging may suggest thet are from permissible sources.

Your Answer
3 + 0 =

Scroll to Top